[Video] The Tallest Man on Earth – “The Gardener”

3 Oct

On Friday night I saw The Tallest Man on Earth at the Somerville Theatre, show one of what promises to be a solid October concert-wise (I’m also seeing The Hold Steady and The Extra (G)Len(n)s later in the month). Thanks to the early and decisive action of my friend Adam in purchasing tickets, we had excellent second row center seats for this treat of a performance.

In my usual weekend malaise I stumbled across a video from the show that prominently features (some would even say co-stars) the back of my head. I feel somewhat badly about this surely unwanted cranial intrusion. Back in grade school I towered over many of the other kids, so much so that whenever there was a film shown in class I would inevitably be pestered to slink down in my chair (Hello back problems!) or move to the very back of the room, which was not a great option given my even-then rather poor eyesight. Given the more contemporary visual evidence below, I suppose that the more things change, the more they stay the same, though I am not inordinately tall by any stretch of the imagination.

So to the person who shot this video: I apologize. I also thank you for not making me relive grade school mid-show via a tap on the shoulder and/or quiet vocal reprimand. You were a very good sport.

If you look closely you can watch my seat-dancing via head shake/nod/bob, which closely resembles convulsions, but please do not be alarmed; I am simply bad at any sort of dancing, and something of a buffoon.

One Response to “[Video] The Tallest Man on Earth – “The Gardener””

  1. Adam October 3, 2010 at 8:52 pm #

    Amazing.

    My head has a small walk-on (nod-on?) part too!

Leave a Reply

